Tatum’s Banner Quilt

by serenapotter

FenceandQuilt

A few months ago my friend Amanda sent me multiple pinned images of a Banner Quilt she had found online and loved.

Hunting these down so I can bestow proper credit.

Deep in the creation and decoration of a nursery for her yet to be born daughter, Tatum, she had decided the wanted a hand made quilt.

We went back and forth about what exactly she wanted and whether or not this was chiefly for decor or use, and I began work as soon as Denyse Schmidt’s Shelburne Falls line of Fat Quarters arrived via mail order.

I fought hard to not use “White”, because originally Amanda was set on it as the background fabric, and I hate white in quilts. I chose Kona Cotton Snow instead.

Tatum's Quilt Detail

This was my first experience with Heat N Bond Ultra Hold, and it was a bit of a learning experience for me, in trying to set up an assembly line of sorts during the cutting and fusing process, not burn myself, the fabrics, or just make a big ol mess.

Tatum's Baby Quilt

I marked this using pencil and an antique quilt motif to resemble wind, or dandelion seeds blowing and swirling. The nursery has been stenciled in large dandelions with seeds scattered throughout the room.

I handquilted this with DMC Ecru colored Perle Cotton 8 using Mountain Mist 100% cotton Cream Rose Batting, and as always she is entirely hand bound as well.

Finished unwashed at 41.5w x 48 h.

Tatum's Quilt

Baby Tatum is due December 31st.

 

